Malaysia to Thailand by sailboat

IMG_20180125_181021

Theory classes although needed just aren’t too exciting. However the prospect of long distance and night sailing; which  has always been something I’ve wanted to do; was. The Langkawi to North Phuket trip is about 240 miles, so a lot of new things were on the horizon for me. IMG_20180107_120809

Home base in Langkawi where all the boats get parked. After checking out of immigration I was officially an illegal everywhere and officially admitted to a country no where. Same as being on a plane for an international trip but you don’t think about it because you can’t get off. Kind of an odd feeling knowing for three days you can come and go from the boat but only as an illegal border crossing. Definitely have to try that!

IMG_20180123_063857

Finally getting in some offshore sailing in on the first night. The first of many firsts on this trip.

IMG_20180123_054732

For all of you laughing that I’m asleep at the wheel a pox on your house! The camera flash was blinding in the dark so the eyes closed were planned. Thats my story and I’m sticking to it. 🙂 Nothing went bump in the night for which I was very happy, all the lights you wind up seeing on the ocean only a few have navigational meaning but you better sort those out. The hazard buoys are easy in the daytime but figuring out the flashing sequence at night which identifies them turned out to be hard sometimes. Is that a blinking light onshore from someones building or a navigation signal. Ugh!

IMG_20180123_152245

Ah an illegal alien in Thailand at last! Must be time for congratulatory beer.

IMG_20180123_152251

Thats it! Right up there a little Thai place serving food and most importantly ice cold beer. 🙂 Managed to sail up to Phuket the next day and check-in to become legal again. Sailing around Phuket was a bit of a twilight zone experience as I knew where things were from the dive boats but this time I had to navigate. I’ll save the Phuket bits for the next entry as I’ll be sailing around here for another week or so.

 

Leave a comment